Ex-trooor-dinary

It was a bittersweet weekend. I caught up with people I haven’t seen in over ten years, but only because of the passing of a dear friend. I’ve been holding off writing about all this until I could get thoughts collected, not drip too much snot and tears on the keyboard, and actually manage to write something worthy of her – that last part I still may not be able to do.

My friend Rachel was amazing, not just extraordinary – everything about her demanded you pronounce it Ex-trooor-dinary. From her always perfect makeup and coif, to her ability to dispatch a three alarm fire with her eyes closed, one hand tied behind her back, not breaking a sweat (cause we can’t ruin the makeup – especially the lipstick!), and still have time for witty repartee with any and all who came her way. She was an amazing mother, and if we can do *half* as good between the two of us, I will count us lucky. She was generous and loyal, and for a span of about ten years she was my best friend in the whole world. Work threw us together, but her sheer awesomeness made us friends. I was drawn to her sarcasm, wit and projection of complete self confidence. She said things I only dared to think, and took action when I would have just stuck my head in the sand. I’m a better person because of knowing her, and for that I will always be grateful.

Due to geography, and most recently ridiculous gas prices, we hadn’t seen much of each other in recent years. I had acquired a baby and she lived over 70 miles away with a great SUV that got sucky gas mileage – we couldn’t exactly just “pop over” for a visit without some serious planning. We called when we could, FB’d as often as possible, and always figured we’d have time to eventually get together.

I count my lucky stars that she was able to make my baby shower, because unbeknownst to me, that would be the last time I  would ever get to see her in person. Being who I was, I had respectfully requested that people keep the pink to a minimum. Well, Rachy being Rachy would have none of that, because she found the most wonderful pink thing ever, and I would just have to deal with it! And of course, she was right, it is Soapfi’s most favorite blanket. She won’t sleep without it, and loves to play peek-a-boo under it. After two years it is already worn down with love. I wish Rachy could have met Soapfi and vice versa, but a little piece of her will always be with my little girl. Rachy will show her you can love the pink and still be a rebel.

Rachy, I will miss you always!

Categories: Other Stuff | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Ex-trooor-dinary

  1. Awe, so sad. I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

