O Binky, My Binky

As previously mentioned I have 3,000+ pictures of Soapfi to sort through. Roughly a third of them are no good just because they are out of focus, she is running out of the frame, or some other photography misfire – no flash, too much flash, flashing in general. No problem, those are easy to metaphorically toss (because lets face it, it’s digital so I never even bother to go in and truly delete them).

The next hurdle is the binky, the all pervasive, must have it, can’t live without it, bright green, takes up half my face, binky. It is my best friend when I’m desperate to just put a cork in her, and my worst enemy when I want to take a cute picture.

I loathe to let her be upset when I know something as simple as that rubbery green disc of comfort will turn off the tears like a switch, but at the same time I hate having to chase them down the street when she gets excited talking and it falls out of her mouth (damn those things can roll!) Or even worse, when she’s been without it for a few hours of her own volition, we get in the car and ten minutes into the ride she realizes she doesn’t have one, she needs one, and mommy forgot to stash one in her pocket.

The binky company has made a fortune off me, we have at least fifteen of the damn things stashed throughout the house, of which we are lucky to find one of at any given time. Her daycare has got her conditioned to only bother to ask for it at nap time, we are working hard for the same at home, however the binky faeries are working against us.  We tell her no, she can only have it for naps or at bed time, she pouts, and 30 seconds later she has found one under the coffee table, behind the sofa, or most likely pulled one out from behind her ear.  At least she will now ask us to “wash binky” when she finds one instead of just putting it, and the 5 million dust bunnies it has collected since it was lost eons ago, into her mouth.

I feel like we’re on the verge of kicking the binky habit. All it will take is a little desire to “be like the big kids” and maybe some creativity on my part, perhaps a special binky box that we can put them in with a little bit of pomp & circumstance and a ceremony to donate them to the babies who really need them. She is starting to show more signs of understanding what it means to help and take care of others, or at least I’m assuming that’s what it means now that she is no longer smacking her dolls heads against her plastic car with glee and abandon, but instead is gently laying them on the couch and running around to us going “shhh, shhh, baby sleeping”.

And even though the photographer in me will be glad to have binky free pictures, the quick problem solver in me is really going to miss that cork…. hmmmm perhaps I’m the one with binky issues!

Categories: Parenting | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “O Binky, My Binky

  1. A former co-worker used the “binky fairy” method… picked a special day and the binkies were left for the fairy to pick up. Granted, his kid was older and the dentist said she was probably destined for braces no matter what – but that getting rid of the binky would probably mean a year less on payments! LOL!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

