The Other Stuff

So far it’s been all about Soapfi, but as the blog title eludes to, there really is other stuff!

Behind the scenes I have been furiously crocheting away on a custom stadium blanket for the upcoming charity auction for the Sockeyes Cancer Foundation. It will hopefully look something like this base photo that I started my design from. It’s a wonderful group that ties together two things I’m passionate about, ice hockey (side note – I’m signed up to take some refresher lessons so I can start playing again this summer, I shall endeavor to make posts on my progress (or lack there of!)) and raising money for cancer research (my father passed away from colon caner before he ever got the chance to know about or meet Soapfi). I hope to have it done in the next few weeks and I promise pictures once I’m through. To convey an idea of the kind of blankets I make, here is the one I made for my favorite podcaster who is responsible for the Frogpants Studio network of shows that I’m completely addicted to. The lighting is a little yellow, but I think it still conveys how downright awesome my work can be!

I still make things for Soapfi, in fact I am currently taking an Amigurumi: Design Your Own Monster course on Craftsy to learn how to design and make crocheted amigurumi, and was inspired to make my own Flying Purple People Eater!

(It received mixed reviews from Soapfi, but I thought it wasn’t half bad for making it from scratch with no pattern!) I also took a knitting class on making seamless knit toys from designer Susan B. Anderson. And this is the elephant I ended up making. (I can’t speak highly enough about Craftsy (no I’m not getting any kind of kickback for this endorsement!). I know that you can get a lot of tutorials free on You Tube, but the quality of instruction and being able to interact with the instructor has certainly been worth the price to me…. and I will do a mini blog about their awesomeness some other time!)  

My current project is my first attempt at Illusion (or Shadow) Knitting. It’s going to be a World of Warcraft themed baby blanket, and not to be a tease, but I don’t want to say any more than that until it’s done (I’m about 1/3 of the way done). I think that’s probably more than enough crafty/non-Soapfi stuff for the day!

Tomorrow Soapfi and I are doing the St. Paddy’s Day Dash in Seattle, hopefully I’ll get a good story or two (not to mention cute pictures) out of the deal.

Categories: Crafty Stuff | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

